What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram?
Having issues with someone in real life, but don’t want to cut them from Instagram?
There is a feature called “Restrict”.
Restricting accounts is a more friendly alternative to blocking or removing someone from your followers.
And while it’s not a new feature, it’s still unknown by a lot of members of the community.
Today, we’ll teach you all about Instagram’s restrict feature:
- What does restrict mean on Instagram
- What is the difference between Restricting vs Blocking
- How to restrict someone on Instagram
What Happens When You Restrict Someone on Instagram?
When you restrict account on Instagram:
- They will still be able to see your posts and stories
- Only both of you will be able to see the future comments on your posts
- Any messages the account send will be moved to your message requests inbox
Restricted accounts won’t know their activity has been limited.
In other words, only you will see the interactions of the restricted person within your profile.
It’s a great feature especially for any new business or influencer that wants to have more control over its comment section.
Restricted Accounts Can See Your Posts & Stories
When you restrict Instagram users, you are allowing them to see your content.
This way, you won’t lose the “follow” from the restricted Instagram user.
When you “comment restrict” and “message restrict” another account, they won’t be able to see your activity status.
An activity status refers to the ability of people to see if you’re online.
Future Comments From Restricted User Are Not Visible to Others
Any new comments of the person you restricted will be visible only to you and them - no one else.
This is useful if you deal with some negative comments.
Mind that, old comments of a limited user will still be visible to everyone.
You can view restricted comments by clicking on the comment and tapping “see comment.”
If you found the comment to be “decent,” you can tap “approve” and make the comment visible to everyone.
If for whatever reason you don’t like it, just tap delete to remove it.
No one else will be able to see future remarks of the person you restricted.
You will be still able to approve individual comments to make them visible to everyone if you chose to.
Their Chat Will Be In Your Message Requests
Restricted account’s messages will be moved to your Message Request inbox.
If you find yourself on a group chat, Instagram will notify you whenever you receive a message from the restricted account.
When you enter the group chat for the first time, Instagram will ask you if you want to leave or not.
If you chose not to leave, Instagram won’t restrict the messages for the group chat.
However, individual messages from the restricted account will remain restricted.
Restrict on Instagram vs Instagram Block
Unlike blocking someone, restricting an account does not completely block all the interactions.
Here are the main differences.
|Can they see posts?||No||Yes|
|Can they see stories?||No||Yes|
|Can they comment on your Instagram posts?||No||Yes, but only them and you can see them. You’ll need to approve the comment for others to see it.|
|Can they send you a direct message?||No||Yes, the messages will appear in the message requests inbox.|
Think of restricting as taking a break for someone; while blocking is more like a long goodbye.
When Should you use the Restrict feature on Instagram?
Restricting is a better alternative to blocking if, for whatever reason, you need to remain friends but you don’t want others to see their interactions on your profile.
The restrict feature allows you to have greater control over what is posted on your profile.
It is a great way to personalize your Instagram experience and leave unwanted attention out of your profile.
Restricting is better alternative to blocking if you still need to stay friends but you don’t want others to see their interactions on your profile.
Influencers need to keep a high follower count to monetize their accounts.
So restricting tends to be more viable than blocking in the long run.
How to Know if Someone Restricted You on Instagram?
There is no way of knowing if your Instagram account is restricted towards any other person.
If you suspect you are restricted by another person, the best way to find out will be to comment on a post and check the same comment with another Instagram profile.
If the comment appears, you are good, if not, they have likely restricted you.
How to Restrict Someone on Instagram
There are multiple ways to restrict a person on Instagram.
The most direct way to do so is from their profile.
Even so, we’ll go over all the ways you can restrict an account on Instagram.
These methods work for both Apple and Android devices as well as the Instagram Lite App.
Remember that you restrict people by following the same steps, you’ll just need to “tap unrestrict.”
I’ve listed below different ways you can restrict Instagram account.
Each method will restrict the user in the same way - so just pick one:
Restrict Someone in The Comments section
To temporarily limit unwanted comments in a pinch do the following:
- Step 1: Go to the post
- Step 2: Click on view all comments
- Step 3: Long press (or swipe left) the comment.
- Step 4: Tap the information icon
- Step 5: Tap restrict user.
Restrict Someone in Direct Messages
- Step 1: Tap the message icon on the top right corner of your screen
- Step 2: Tap the chat you want to restrict
- Step 3: Tap on the name of the person
- Step 4: Tap restrict
- Step 5: Confirm to restrict the account
Restrict Someone Directly From Their Profile
- Step 1: Go to the profile you want to restrict
- Step 2: Tap the three-dot icon on the top right corner
- Step 3: On the three dots menu, tap the restrict button
Restrict Someone In Your Account Settings
This is a great option to restrict multiple people.
- Step 1: Tap your profile picture
- Step 2: Tap the three-line icon
- Step 3: Click on account settings
- Step 4: Tap privacy
- Step 5: Tap restricted accounts, then continue
- Step 6: Search for the accounts you want to restrict and confirm.
- Step 7: Tap approve
If you still see restricted person comments on your profile, Instagram might not be working correctly.
Try fixing the app before trying again.
Instagram Restrict Account FAQ
Can a Restricted Person Still See Your Posts and Stories?
Yes, restricted accounts on Instagram can still see your posts and stories.
They will be able to comment and send you messages, but Instagram won’t notify you about any of those actions.
Can Restricted Account Post Comments?
Yes, restricted Instagram accounts can post comments.
Comments will be visible only to them and the author of the Instagram post unless the author chooses to approve them.
Karen is a senior technical writer and copywriter here at GrowFollowing. Her area of expertize are social media apps and new media.