Logo

About


How to Leave a Private Story on Snapchat

  Karen

The Snapchat Private Story feature is great - you share photos, videos, or whatever posts you want with selected people.

Unlike public stories, you can actually manage and control the people on your Snapchat contact list who can see your content without actually deleting them.

But what if you open Snapchat, and see private user posts from a person you don’t want to see?

In this case, leaving their private list is your best shot. Today, we will talk about:

  • How to leave a private story on Snapchat;
  • How do Snapchat private stories work?;
  • What to know about Snapchat private stories.

How to Know if You Are in Someone’s Private Story

Seeing another person’s private story requires that you have been previously added to their private friend list.

Custom, Group Stories, and Private Stories on Snapchat are great, and they work perfectly for privacy management.

Therefore, if you want to know if you are on someone’s private tale list, then this is what you have to do:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and on the main display tab tap, you will see the stories icon;
  2. Easily locate and tap here to go to the Stories page. It is also possible to swipe left to go here;
  3. Scroll through multiple people stories until you see a purple lock icon.

The meaning of this lock on Snapchat is related to you being added to a person’s private story list.

So, if you see this little lock symbol, then you are in that person’s private stories friend list.

How to Leave a Private Story on Snapchat

Now you know it - stories that are private ones on the Snapchat app will have a little padlock on them.

Besides, it might have a story title and not the name of the same person on it.

Anyways, if you know that you are on someone’s private story list, then you can follow these steps to leave that friend’s list as soon as possible.

Step 1: Locate A Person’s Private Story

First of all, you need to look for the person’s private story or group story. Simply tap on the search bar, and type in their username.

You can also go to mutual users profiles and check whether they have an uploaded private story or not.

Step 2: Long-Press the Snapchat Private Stories

Now, it is necessary to long-press on the purple private story.

If you want to leave different private stories lists, then you need to do this with each of them one by one.

A pop-up menu will appear - this is where the magic happens.

Step 3: Tap on “Leave Story”

Last but not least, tap on “leave story.” If you follow the previous steps, you will leave their private story list in no time!

Many users are tired of seeing the same snaps and stories all over again, so worry not - do this, and their private stories will immediately disappear.

How to Check If You Have Left Private Stories on Snapchat

In order to know if you have successfully exited someone’s private story on Snapchat list, this is what you have to do:

  1. Go to the Story Page on Snapchat and look for a private story;
  2. If you cannot see a private story on Snapchat that belongs to the person you just deleted, then you are good to go;
  3. You can also search for the profile of the person you exited the private story on Snapchat list and check if they have normal stories instead of private ones.

Does Snapchat Notify When You Leave Private Story?

No, Snapchat does not notify anyone when you leave someone’s private story.

It is not that Snapchat notifications are not working - it’s just that there is no such thing as a “Leave a Private Story” notification.

So, you can rest assured that when you leave a private story list of someone, no one will know that you did so.

Will You Know If Someone Leaves Your Private Story List?

No. In fact, if someone leaves your private Snapchat stories, you will still see the person on your private stories list.

Unlike what happens when someone unadded you on Snapchat, the contacts will still be there. You can manage who sees all your private stories like this:

  1. Go to the Stories section and open the Story;
  2. Press on the option button at the top left corner of the screen;
  3. If you have a person added to your private story list, you will see blue tick marks next to their name.

If they leave a private story list that you created, then the only way to know it would be to check whether they have seen the story or not.

And that’s all you need to know! You are ready to leave a private story list whenever you want, thanks to GrowFollowing.

FAQ

Can You Know How Many Private Stories You Are In?

You cannot know the exact number of private stories lists you have been added to.

Nonetheless, you can look through your contacts one by one and check this information if you have the time.



About the author
Karen
Karen

Karen is a senior technical writer and copywriter here at GrowFollowing. Her area of expertize are social media apps and new media.