SOLVED: 'Your Account Was Compromised' Instagram message


Last updated on: June 24, 2019
about 5 minutes

If you got an Instagram in-app notification that says “It looks like you shared your password with a service to help you get more likes or followers, which goes against our Community Guidelines. Change your password to continue using Instagram. If you share your new password with one of these services, you may get blocked from following, liking or commenting.” and their variations, you are not alone.

your account was compromised instagram message fix

After recent updates to Instagram algorithm, tens of millions of Instagram profiles started seeing this automated message, whether they indeed participated in inauthentic activities or not.

Why am I seeing this message?

Instagram, over years, has been cracking down on fake follower networks and “inauthentic” activity happening on their platform. The Facebook owned platform has been taking down fake accounts since at least 2014 but only recently has been publicly stating about removing fake likes and follows.

The main reason? Money.

Instagram is trying to protect their ad revenue - in simple words, if you want to grow followers on Instagram, they want you to spend money on their ads, not on 3rd party services.

This comes as no suprise given in last few years Facebook has been investing heavily their resources into building advertising platform on Instagram.

However, many users are not happy with this course of action as this forces them to pay even more for advertising to stay on top of the organic reach that is being trimmed with every year. And as our research shows, ads don’t perform well for follower growth.

What are “inauthentic Likes and Follows”?

Instagram mentions in their press release that they are reducing inauthentic activity. But what exactly this “inauthentic activity” is?

  • likes that were purchased to make the post appear more popular
  • followers that were purchased in bulk to make the account appear more popular
  • like and follow actions that were posted via a bot
  • comments that were automatically made and posted via a bot

What activity is NOT considered as “inauthentic”?

  • like and follow actions done manually and selectively (by you or someone in charge of your account: social media manager, agency etc.)
  • non automated, manually written & sent Instagram direct messages
  • non automated, manually viewed Instagram stories

Do I risk my account getting banned?

NO, you don’t risk your account getting banned if you:

  • do all the activity manually and just overdosed with the follow or like actions
  • use organic service or social media manager to grow your account manually

Instagram might still temporarly limit some of the functions on your Instagram account like follow or like actions with “Action Blocked” message. These blocks usually don’t last long.

YES, there is a moderate to high risk of getting your account banned if:

  • you purchased bulk followers
  • you use bots and software solutions that promise follower growth
  • you use mobile games and apps that promise follower growth

How to solve it?

The most important is: if you participate in purchasing followers or using bots, immediatelly stop those activities.

Here are known ways to unblock “Action Blocked” message:

  • give yourself a break from follow and like activities for at least 72 hours
  • switch to mobile data
  • link your Instagram account with Facebook

Let’s go into more details for each method:

1. Take a break

Since overdosing activity on your Instagram will be the most common reason why your received “Action Blocked” message, it’s a common sense that taking a break from following, liking and commenting is a good way to get rid of “Action Blocked” error. We recommend to stop all activities at least for 72 hours although in some cases, the block might last longer, up to 5-7 days.

2. Switch to mobile data

No matter whether or not you are accessing your Instagram profile via an Instagram app on your phone or Instagram website on your computer, if you connect to Internet via a WiFi at home or your work, switch to your mobile network. So:

  • If you are on mobile, switch to your 4G/5G.
  • If you are on computer, enable hotspot on your phone and connect your computer to this hotspot network.

Likely is, Instagram flagged or banned your home or work IP, so switching to a mobile data might help.

If you haven’t done so yet, try to connect your personal or business Instagram account with your or brand’s Facebook account.

This way, you are showing Instagram more credibility that indeed you are a real person using an account and not a bot. Often, Instagram accounts that were machine-made or are machine-maintained are not associated with any Facebook accounts, and Instagram might see it as a trust issue.

See how to link your Instagram with Facebook guide to learn how to do it efficiently.

How to Avoid Getting “Your account Was Compromised” message

As Instagram’s alghoritm constantly changes, with each update, both the causes why you are getting blocked and the ways to avoid might change.

As of today, these are confirmed ways to prevent getting blocked:

1. Use only organic growth services

If you have been using 3rd party service, make sure you don’t use bots and software solutions and instead, use only organic Instagram service or social media agency where the actions are completed manually, not automatically. This way, it will look just like you would do it yourself.

2. Don’t complete too many actions

If you are on a follow spree, slow down. Although it might be tempting to follow many users at once and then forget about it, this way you are more likely to get your actions blocked on Instagram.

Copyright © 2019 • Los Angeles
Powered by DO , dc