Logo

About


Can You Hide Tiktoks From Certain Followers?

  Karen

We all know that TikTok has one of the most powerful algorithms around - it can get to millions of users within just a few days!

So, when you post something, you probably don’t want every single TikTok user on the platform, unless you want to get TikTok famous.

So, is there a way to make a video private? Or will all the videos you post on TikTok appear to everyone?

Luckily, managing your video’s privacy settings is quite easy, and we are going to show you how to do it.

Keep on reading today’s post to learn more about:

  • Can you hide TikToks from certain followers?;
  • How to manage your video’s privacy setting;
  • Things to know before you hide videos from a person on the TikTok app.

Can You Hide TikToks from Certain Followers?

Yes, you can indeed hide videos from a person, a user, or multiple users on TikTok.

Fortunately, TikTok gives you the option to manage your video posting settings on this short-form video app.

TikTok created features that allow you to decide the way to use the TikTok Platform and this includes, of course, blocking a certain person from watching your content.

Privacy features are a must on social media platforms, and TikTok definitely understands this.

So, if you are worried because another user checks too many similar videos to the ones you post, or if you simply want your videos to not appear on another user’s profile, then you are on your right to do so.

How to Hide TikTok Videos from Certain Followers

There are three ways to hide your videos from certain followers on TikTok.

Making a private TikTok account is one of the best ways to hide videos without blocking users, but there are other methods as well.

Thus, follow all the steps here, and you will be able to hide your videos on the TikTok app as soon as possible.

Method 1: Make a Private Account On TikTok

The first method consists of making a private account on TikTok.

When you switch from a public to a private profile, all your videos will turn into private videos, and only users and friends you accept will be able to watch your TikTok profile.

This, of course, includes your liked videos, following list, how many views your TikToks receive, and more.

Step 1: Open TikTok and Go to Settings

First, open the TikTok app on your phone and go to your profile page by tapping on your profile icon at the bottom right corner of the screen.

Step 2: Select the Privacy Option

Once you open your profile, tap on the settings icon at the top right corner of the screen.

Here, select Settings and Privacy, and then tap on Privacy.

Step 3: Toggle “Private Account” On, and Only Your Followers Will See Your TikToks

Select the TikTok Private Account switch and toggle it on.

From now on, only your friends and the people you accept on the platform will be able to see your TikTok videos.

This means that if other users want to watch each TikTok video you post, you would need to approve their following requests first.

Method 2: Change Privacy Settings On a Video

Now, you can hide TikTok videos one by one if you want.

Making a private video is great if you just want to hide certain TikTok videos and not all of them.

The good thing is that you are able to make TikToks private whether you have a public or a private profile on the platform.

Step 1: Go to Your TikTok Profile and Select a TikTok Video

Launch TikTok on your phone, and go to your profile.

Step 2: Tap On the Three Dots and Select Privacy Settings

Surf through your videos, and select only the video you want to hide from others.

Here, tap on the three dots icon that appears on the left sidebar of the video.

Side scroll until you find a lock icon that says “Video’s Privacy Settings” and tap on it.

Step 3: Change “Who Can Watch This Video” to “Friends”

Select the “Who can watch this video” option and change it to Friends.

This way, only the people you follow and who follow you back will be able to see this video.

If you want to keep this video hidden from everyone, then tap the Only Me option.

If you do this, you will be the only person able to see that video.

This will make the video work as a draft video, so you can, later on, show it to the public if you must.

Method 3: Block or Remove Follower On TikTok

The last method consists of blocking or removing certain individuals from your TikTok account.

You could just unfollow them on TikTok, but they will still be able to send you requests and see your videos if they want.

  1. Launch TikTok on your phone and look for the profile of the person you want to block or remove;
  2. Once you open their profiles, tap on the three dots icon;
  3. Here, you will have multiple options, and two of them are Blocking and Remove Follower;
  4. If you choose the “Block” option, they will be unable to find your profile, see your videos, and contact you until you unblock them;
  5. If you choose “Remove Follower,” they will stop following you, but they will still be able to check your videos if they look for your profile manually.

Wrapping Up: How to Hide Videos from Certain Followers On TikTok

Fortunately, hiding your TikTok videos is totally possible, and you have plenty of ways to do so.

Either make your profile private, set the privacy setting of the video to Only Friends, or block/remove specific users who you don’t want to see on the platform anymore.

You can check more TikTok-based content and articles here, at GrowFollowing.

FAQ

How Many People Can You Block or Remove On TikTok?

There is no limit to the number of people you can block or remove on TikTok, but if you use the Bulk Blocking feature on TikTok, then you can remove up to 100 individuals at once.



About the author
Karen
Karen

Karen is a senior technical writer and copywriter here at GrowFollowing. Her area of expertize are social media apps and new media.