Logo

About


How to Hide Followers on TikTok

  Karen

Some people use TikTok to get TikTok famous by publishing relevant content, and others prefer to keep their personal information hidden from others.

If you are the second type of person mentioned above, then you probably want to hide your Following List on TikTok.

When you prevent other users from checking your Followers List, they will be unable to check each user and account you follow on the TikTok app, but how do you do this?

If you are wondering how to proceed, then wonder no more - this post will give you all the information you need about these matters:

  • How to hide followers on TikTok;
  • How does hiding your following list on TikTok work?;
  • Who can hide Follower List on the TikTok app?

Can You Hide Followers On TikTok?

Yes, you can hide your Following List on TikTok by changing your privacy settings on the app.

In other words, setting your TikTok account as private will allow only your friends and the people who you accept to have access to your follower list on the app.

On top of that, there are security and safety options that allow you to easily hide followers list on your TikTok profile just by making a couple of tweaks on your account’s setting screen.

Nevertheless, TikTok displays how many people follow you automatically, so this cannot change.

So, as it happens on Instagram, where you can’t entirely hide total Instagram followers number on your account, you can prevent users from all over the globe from watching your published posts, video content, TikTok page, and followers, but your default follower number will still show on your TikTok profile.

How to Hide Followers On TikTok

There are two ways to hide your following list on TikTok.

The first one consists of making a user’s profile private.

This will make all your content automatically hidden from others, unless you manually accept accounts to follow you on your profile.

The second method consists of making your Following List private to everyone but you, which will only keep your list hidden, but other accounts will be able to check your content as well.

Method 1: Switch to a Private Account

Firstly, let’s start with the TikTok profile private method. Check the following steps to learn how to do it.

Step 1: Open TikTok and Go to Your Profile

Open TikTok, and log in to your account as you normally do.

Then, look for your profile icon at the bottom right corner of the screen menu and tap on it.

Step 2: Select Privacy and Settings and Tap “Privacy”

After you open your user icon, your TikTok page will open.

Above all the videos, at the top right corner of the screen, select the three dots icon, and then go to Privacy and Settings.

Here, tap on Privacy, and proceed to the last step.

Step 3: Toggle the Private Account Switch (Change to Personal Account if Needed)

Here, you need to select the toggle switch that says Private Account and turn it on.

If a user taps on it, and they have a Pro Account, an error message will pop up telling them to switch to a Personal Account.

This means that only personal accounts can access private settings on TikTok.

So, change from Professional to Personal, and proceed.

From now on, only followers that you accept on your TikTok Page will be able to make comments, start visiting your profile, see your videos, send you messages, and, of course, see your following list.

Method 2: Entirely Hide Following List from Other Users

Now, if you don’t want anyone to see your following list, then you can set your Following List to “Only Me.”

This safety feature makes an error message appear whenever all users tap on your following list, informing that “due to the user’s privacy settings, checking your following list is impossible.”

Pro Tip: Are you tired of the TikTok content that certain users upload to the platform? Unfollow them right away! Learn how to unfollow on TikTok by checking our related article.

Step 1: Launch TikTok and Go to Settings

Open the TikTok app, tap on your photo icon, and go to the main Setting Menu.

Step 2: Tap “Privacy” and Scroll Down to “Interactions”

Here, tap on Privacy again. Now, scroll down until you see the Interactions tab on this setting menu.

Step 3: Select “Following List” and Change to “Only Me”

Under “Interactions,” you will see the “Following List” option.

Tap on it, and then select Only Me.

Confirm your decision on this menu and proceed.

After you tap on “Only Me,” no one will be able to see your followers, not even your friends, and not even if you have a default public account on TikTok.

This feature entirely hides your following list from others, and you can go back to your standard privacy setting whenever you want.

That’s how you do it!

Managing your privacy on TikTok is imperative, and thanks to this guide, you now know how to hide your followers’ list. Get more interesting TikTok guides here, at GrowFollowing.

FAQ

Can People See Who You Follow On TikTok?

People can only see who you follow on TikTok if you have a public profile on the platform, or if you have a private profile, but have accepted friend requests from other users. Either way, you can entirely disable your following list on your account by following the aforementioned steps in this guide.



About the author
Karen
Karen

Karen is a senior technical writer and copywriter here at GrowFollowing. Her area of expertize are social media apps and new media.