Logo

About


How to Delete a Tiktok Story

  Karen

TikTok Stories are here! The Story Feature was recently introduced on this prominent social media app, and many users are currently uploading stories on TikTok nonstop.

But what if you uploaded too many stories, and now you want to delete some of them?

Perhaps you have also accidentally posted stories on TikTok, and you want to get them out from your profile page.

Well, you can delete a story on TikTok quite easily, and today, we are going to show TikTok users how to do it.

Keep on reading this post to learn more about:

  • How to delete a TikTok story;
  • How do TikTok stories work?;
  • Things to know before you post a story on TikTok.

How Do TikTok Stories Work?

TikTok stories work very similarly to the story features we can find on other social media platforms, such as Instagram stories.

You, as a user, select a piece of content on the TikTok app, upload it to your TikTok profile, and it will stay there for 24 hours.

This means that TikTok stories disappear by themselves after just one day, but if you can’t wait, then you can also delete them.

Your story on TikTok appears in fullscreen mode, and unlike Instagram, there’s no special method to see all stories at once - you can watch them on the profile page of another user on the TikTok app.

How many stories can you upload on TikTok, you ask? Well, according to the platform, there’s no limit to the number of TikTok stories or TikTok videos you can upload, so worry not.

How Can You Watch a Story On TikTok?

You can check other people’s TikTok stories in two ways:

  1. Go to other users’ profiles by looking for their usernames and tap on the blue circle on their profile photo, or you can also find it right beside the most recent video on the feed;
  2. Or find a TikTok video on your For You Page or Post Feed, and if you see a blue circle on their profile picture, then you can see other people’s stories by tapping on it.

In the same order of ideas, others can also find your uploaded story by doing the same.

There’s no “Current Story Menu” as it does happen with the Instagram Story feature, but there might as well be at some point.

How to Delete a TikTok Story

As we mentioned before, you can delete TikTok stories manually, but if you don’t do so, remember that all the stories you post will disappear after a time frame or just 24 hours.

Either way, remember that the audience settings on your stories on TikTok depend on whether you have a public or private account.

Deleting a TikTok story is as easy as deleting TikTok videos, so without further ado, let’s get to it.

Pro Tip: Why is your TikTok video not showing up? This happens due to a great variety of reasons. Fortunately, we have covered on our website an article that shows you how to fix this matter, so check it out to learn more about it.

Step 1: Open the TikTok App and Log In to Your TikTok Account

Firstly, open the TikTok app as you normally do and make sure that you are signed into your own account.

Step 2: Tap On Your Profile Icon

Then, at the bottom right corner of the screen, you will find your profile icon. Tap on it, and proceed with the following step.

Step 3: Select the Blue Ring On Your Profile Picture

Now, if you have indeed uploaded a story on TikTok, you will see a blue circle surrounding your PFP, as we mentioned earlier.

You can see this cycle right under the settings drop-down menu, where you can also see who views your TikTok.

Step 4: Tap On the Three Horizontal Dots

After you tap on the circle, the TikTok story will open. You will see three horizontal dots right next to the story.

Tap on these three dots, but do so only on the story you want to delete.

You can delete a story individually, but if you have uploaded multiple stories, then you would need to delete stories one by one.

Step 5: Select Delete TikTok Story

At last, on this new pop-up menu, you need to tap “Delete Story.” A pop-up message will appear, asking you to confirm your decision.

Simply tap on the Delete option again, and the story will disappear.

That’s how you delete a story on TikTok! Deleted stories cannot be recovered, and they will be removed from your profile forever.

Of course, you can always re-upload a story if you want.

For more simple and straight-to-the-point TikTok guides, check all the content that GrowFollowing has for you.

FAQ

Does TikTok Delete Stories?

Yes - when you post stories from your camera roll, TikTok will automatically delete them after 24 hours.

Can You See Deleted TikTok Story?

No - after you get a story deleted on TikTok, you cannot see it again. Deleted stories on the TikTok app cannot be recovered unless they were previously saved in your phone’s storage.



About the author
Karen
Karen

Karen is a senior technical writer and copywriter here at GrowFollowing. Her area of expertize are social media apps and new media.